A Rare and Welcomed Surprise – Free Radio

Just watched the latest episode of Free Radio on VH1.  The show is so out of place on this network… mainly because it’s a great show.  Sadly, VH1’s programming has moved to Turd City and is littering all over its own streets with an endless amount of Same Shit-Different (and not in a clever way) Title “reality” shows that make me taste my own vomit every time I get a glimpse of them.  Try watching more than 3 minutes of any of the “_____ of Love” shows and you’ll see/taste what I mean.

Yes, Ponce and I both guest star on Free Radio this season.  Yes, that is a good reason for us to tout the show as being awesome.  The honest reality is, this here entertainment world we have decided to become active members of is full of terrible shows and even more terrible people who make them.

I’ve been in some really shitty movies and TV shows.  Free Radio is so far removed from the shitty it makes me smile when I think about it.

Every cast member on the show is talented in the uber column, and everyone who makes the show happen behind the scenes makes being on set such a pleasure that when your scenes are done you still want to hang out for the rest of the shoot.  Most of the time I am ready to bolt when I’m wrapped, but this little show is an exception that I am happy to succumb to… if all TV shows were like this the quality of what’s on TV would be so high you could actually get smarter watching it.

So call it blowing sunshine up Free Radio’s ass, brown-nosing the Exec(s) at VH1 who gave the show a go for season 2, or just plain spewing happy to find a show on TV that doesn’t suck goo.  Bottom line is, the show is funny, smart, and the people who make it are truly wonderful.  The fact that they rewrote an entire episode especially catered to the mighty Ponceman screams volumes.

Sad truth, most networks are scared to cast Ponce in anything.  Oh they would be fine if he guest starred as the magical retard who spews childlike wisdom and nobody ever says anything mean to him and if they do they get their comeuppance.  We are angling to take the PC/terrified to lose their sponsors attitude the networks have developed over the years and burn the living shit out of it.  If more shows like Free Radio hit the airwaves that task will get easier.

Now children, pray with me for Free Radio season 3…

AMEN

-sap

One thought on “A Rare and Welcomed Surprise – Free Radio

  1. Diane Johnston says:

    I love the show – Free Radio is definitely a pleasant surprise. It seems fresh & different – good writing, good acting, great characters. *Hilarious!* Ponce was terrific. I have a series recording set up on my DVR now. This could be the first time I’ve watched VH1 in 10 years…:-)

    I’m excited for you guys on this project.

    Quernzy’s mom

Leave a Reply

