Good Hatin’

SAP here…

We get a lot of interesting emails and comments about our videos. For the most part people seem to really enjoy the work we do. A lot of people point out how much they love the fact that we are not Politically Correct and also like the way we make fun of stereotypes. Here are a couple of examples of that work:

THE TROUBLE WITH SYNDROMES

RETARD, PLEASE!

We have never pulled punches about our beliefs as far as comedy goes and how sad and watered down the humor in our country has become since the PC freaks decided that context and tone don’t count anymore. Well, once again we call double bullshit.

When someone calls their friend a “Retard” we know they aren’t knocking people with down syndrome. Why? Because of the context and tone in which the words are used. If I call someone an “idiot” I can guarantee if your heard it, you’d know if it was friendly shit-talking or an actual verbal attack.  Context and tone must not become irrelevant or we will cease to grow and learn as a society.

Now, Ponce has a good understanding of this world and the people in it, especially the ones on the internet. And over the years we’ve both learned different ways to process the hate that gets flung our way. Another example of this is… Warren, the douche:

This brings us back to the emails and comments we get. Now, tone is something you can’t really read in an email or comment on a youtube video. That is the case, usually. I think just about anyone who reads the following comment can pretty much nail its intended tone on the head. I give you a message from Chriskinda.

Chriskinda

hey yo I’m just speakin the truth. We really should kill all the retards and save a lot of time…especially the ones who aren’t even human. I mean whats the point of keeping people alive to waste resources when they can’t give anything back to soceity. It may be mean cruel or even sadistic, but the world can’t support the worthless.

I wish I could understand how this attitude, this belief system, still exists. The notion that any group can be judged and sentenced to death, THIS IS WHAT IS PROPOSED ABOVE, based on their genetics is disgusting to me. One thing I know about myself is that senseless hate makes my stomach turn. I also know one thing about Ponce… he can shake it off easier than anyone I know. The guy that all this hate is aimed at is the one guy who is bothered by it the least. Why? Because he files this person away as a lost cause and just focuses on the true friends that surround him. I take a little while longer to get past the filing process.

5 thoughts on “Good Hatin’

  1. I love your thoughts here… and want to hear more. I want me daughter (4 year old with DS) to grow up and be able to shake the slurs and let the insults roll off her back like Josh seems to be able to do… any advice?

    • The thing my family and I have always done is to be honest with Ponce. A lot of people try to protect their kids and shield them from the nastiness in the world, especially when the child has a handicap of any kind. I find that always sets the kid up for a rude awakening, and could make them resent their parents for not preparing them for the ugly side of life. Eventually we all have to deal with it. Ponce has always been able to brush the bad off because he’s surrounded by a big dose of the good. Outside of our family he has some truly amazing friends. Many of which have told me time and time again how happy they are they met Ponce because it has opened them up to a world they most likely would have never experienced.

      Love, honesty, good friends. That’s our recipe. Doesn’t mean it works 100% of the time (there are always secret snake people out there who try to weasel their way into the mix) but that’s what makes it easier for us to deal with the BS and move on.

  2. wilmab says:

    Your parents have raised wonderful children. My son, who just turned 7(happy b-day Alex), has the most wonderful sense of humor so if Ponce ever needs a body double, and you’re in Florida, look us up!!

  3. jonashpdx says:

    Man, I love this post. I’ve pointed a lot of people to your “retard, please” post and embedded it in a post on my site as well… even though as a fairly new parent to a boy with DS, I’m not quite where you guys are as far as the retard thing.

    But I hope to be sometime soon.

    Keep doing what you’re doing. The Ponceman, whether he means to or not, is setting a great example for kids with and without DS, and I can’t wait til my son’s old enough to check out the Ponce vids — not only are they fuckin’ great entertainment but it’ll be good for him to see someone who’s totally normal and smart and funny as hell and yet looks a little more like him than anyone else on TV or in Internet land.

  4. onefish1 says:

    Hi guys, I’m a little late to the ball, and just ran across your videos, RP and such. Fantastic stuff, uniquely funny, and that’s very very rare to find. Ponce–you’re great, I enjoyed many many of the videos tonight.

Leave a Reply

