New Orleans and the Promises of the New Year

SAP here ~

This one is for everyone out there who digs our stuff, the fans of Perry Brothers goodies, Ponce’s work, my work, and everyone who just digs checking in to see what we are up to.

“Think it Over One More Time….. baby, won’t you please come home….”

Clifton Chenier sings to me as I write my thoughts on the coming new year, assuming the Apocalypse does NOT commence as scheduled, and his words beckon me back home letting me know that it’s waiting to embrace me in its loving, Louisiana arms.

I’ve finished a new screenplay. It’s a horror flick. One I intend to direct in early 2013. The universe seems to be signaling me that the time is here, make the move, push the envelope, get your groove on. So it’s a push back home, to make all the wonderful projects I’ve been building this past year come to fruition. The birthing legs are ready to walk.

Los Angeles has been pretty good to me. I’m not the biggest fan of the city, this is pretty well known. Mostly because of the actual business of Hollywood and the way people are taught to comport themselves in the City of Angels. Louisiana is my homeland. As limited as the big city things I love so much are in Louisiana, it wins on the people, the music, the food, and the way I feel when I’m here. Right now, I’m sitting at Cafe Envie The coffee is so so, the atmosphere good good, and the feeling of being in New Orleans…. well, as they say, Laissez les bons temps rouler!

A lot of my Los Angeles friends have taken to traveling to New Orleans for work in the film industry. The jobs are growing. And once you’ve spent time here, and really taken in the people and the music it’s clear why a person like me feels most comfortable here. I want to make Louisiana a better place to make movies. It’s already pretty awesome, I want to help make it the most awesome.

So, as 2013 rolls in my mind will be on all the wonders that are already in action and the ways they will flourish and grow as time moves forward. I will be creating a lot, from comedy, drama, horror and mixtures of all the above. I feel more roles for Ponceman in movies and TV and all the new forms of entertainment that are cropping up in this new age of internet based entertainments. I have a love I’ve never felt before in my life, and an excitement and drive that has somehow endured the hardest times and crappiest situations to, oddly enough, come out stronger. And I have a happiness that comes from sharing my works and thoughts with fans, true fans, that I feel connected with more than ever. The book signings we’ve done in 2012, the public appearances and just plain ol’ hanging out with the homies have made me thankful for the past, the good and the bad, and has helped me realize how great this ride truly is.

Thanks for sharing the ride.

-SAP

20121215-164858.jpg

Leave a comment